Wonder of Wonders, Miracles of Miracles

Monday morning came with us scrambling to get in touch with the insurance company to obtain an ID number for Strokeman to give the hospital and the prospective rehab center. When my daughter-in-law contacted them, she was given the number and told that the coverage had been made effective as of January 2011. Yes. That is not a typo. January. Just in case you have forgotten, this occurred on April 1, 2011. Retroactive to the beginning of the year. The entire hospitalization would be covered. Let me just say that this was a most humbling experience. We had been offered insurance by Lockheed Martin, the company my husband had retired from, and we had refused it. Then, once we needed it, they not only let us re-instate it, they made it retroactive to the beginning of the year. Am I repeating myself? It is just that even now, almost two years later, it is still so unbelievable! A little picture of grace – undeserved mercy. My son said it is like having our house burn down and then buying home insurance and having it cover the house.

Of course, now that we had full coverage we also had rehab centers tripping over themselves for our business. The discharge planner even called to let me know that our present hospital had a lovely rehab center that would love to be considered by us (I refrained from asking if we would have to deal with her over there as well). Here is where I made the mistake of not slowing down and considering my options a little more closely. We had been rushed so much, that it did not occur to me to demand another day to make our decision. Instead, I went with what we knew best. I chose to stay with the hospital’s rehab center, because of Marisol. Of course, Marisol explained to us that she only did acute care therapy, and would not be able to work with Strokeman, but she assured us that she had full confidence in the staff that would be dealing with him.

What nobody mentioned was that the hospital’s rehab center was in the process of shutting down, and that we would be one of the last patients they would accept before starting their partnership with a new facility that was being built down the street. In retrospect, I think we would have been better off going to a facility in which people were not distracted with finding other places to work and dealing with internal transitions. In retrospect, I wish I had chosen a place closer to home. In retrospect, I wish I had kept my job. In retrospect, I wish I hadn’t neglected my children as much as I did. In retrospect.

I could spend my whole life regretting decisions I made during those days. There are many things I wish I had done differently, but the reality is, I did the best I could at the time. I prayed for wisdom and direction. My church, my family, and my friends prayed for us. So at the end of the day I have to believe that however difficult and painful the results of those decisions were, they were the decisions I was supposed to make.

Once when we were looking for someone to build a house for us I asked a friend if he liked his contractor. He replied, “Nobody ever likes their contractor by the time they get done building.” I think that in a way there is some correlation there to our rehab situation. Strokeman was not the ideal, motivated patient that rehab centers like to have. I was a very enabling, spouse with a bit of a martyr complex. It is easy to blame the rehab center for the results, but as with most things, that is only part of the story. The rest of the story, as Paul Harvey used to say, is how a sovereign God was at work in the lives of His people.

This entry was posted in The Story. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wonder of Wonders, Miracles of Miracles

  1. Kathy Gray says:

    Each time you continue the story I find myself hoping the next installment comes quickly- and I know the story! This is a gripping, well-written journey that needs to be put into book form someday.

    • I am only able to endure it one little bite at a time at the moment, with a time reminding myself of the good memories and good friends in between. Right now I am just trying to get it written. We will see what happens then.

  2. What an answer to prayer that was!!! Its a huge blessing to read this even though it’s painful at times! I’m so glad you’re sharing this with all of us. Plus, you have reconfirmed that you’re an amazing writer!

  3. tinuviel says:

    I’m thankful all over again for the insurance provision!

  4. Kelly Lyrene says:

    Still remember when you got this incredible news! Just amazes me how faithful God is even in the hardest of circumstances!

  5. Pingback: Silver and Gold | strokemanswoman

Leave a Reply

