More Love to Thee

More love to thee, O Christ, more love to thee!

Hear thou the prayer I make on Bended knee;

This is my earnest plea, More love, O Christ, to thee,

More love to thee, More love to thee!

Once earthly joy I craved, sought peace and rest;

Now thee alone I seek; give what is best:

This all my prayer shall be, more love, O Christ, to thee,

More love to thee, more love to thee!

Let sorrow do its work, send grief and pain;

Sweet are thy messengers, sweet their refrain,

When they can sing with me, more love O Christ, to thee,

More love to Thee, more love to thee!

Then shall my latest breath whisper thy praise;

This be the parting cry my heart shall raise,

This still its prayer shall be, more love, O Christ, to thee,

More love to thee, more love to thee!

By Elizabeth Payson Prentiss, 1869

This entry was posted in Then Sings My Soul. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Love to Thee

  1. Kelly Lyrene says:

    May it be Lord Jesus! The cry of my heart.
    Blessings be poured out on you dear friend! Keep hoping, trusting ever!!

  2. Cindy V says:

    You are both making me cry! Carry on!

  3. And you have made me smile!

Leave a Reply

